top of page

Matched!

For the past 4 months I have been waiting anxiously to find out where I would match for my internship next year. The results were supposed to be posted on a website at midnight Wednesday night, so Justin and I stayed up late waiting for the results to be posted. At 12:01 I logged on and there was nothing there. I stayed up for an hour refreshing the page before giving up and deciding sleep was more valuable. I checked a few more times in the morning, 5am, 6am, 7am, still nothing. Fortunately around 8:30 one of my classmates told me that I could call the Navy GME office to get my results. I called and found out that I had matched Transitional Year at Walter Reed! My first choice!!

some memories from the first year of med school - I've come a long way!

I was excited about matching my first choice, but at the same time, didn't feel like it was quite as exciting as many of my classmates who had matched into their actual specialty. I hope to go into anesthesia after internship, but the Navy doesn't have a categorical internship for anesthesia, so I will have to apply again next year. I am looking forward to internship though, it means I will get to do more rotations, like I am doing now in medical school, except with the added responsibility of being an actual doctor! Many rotations will be in internal medicine, but I will also get to choose 4 elective rotations, something unique to TY internships.

The other thing making it hard to be excited about next year is the fact that by staying in this area I will be apart from my husband. He has to go back to a submarine and there are no submarines in Bethesda. This was a conscious decision, as he will be gone most of the year, and my family will be here to support me in one of the most difficult years of my training. I think it's the right choice for our family to stay here, but I'm not looking forward to another year apart from my husband! We've resorted to spreadsheets to planning our life and I'm not looking forward to our curves diverging again.

bottom of page