top of page

The Last Summer

We're coming to a close of what I have been told is my last summer break EVER. The rest of med school summers are filled with clinical rotations and after that it's working in the real world! My summer break this year was only a few weeks long, and I made the most of it! My sister, Sarah joined me on my two week visit to San Diego. We spent most of our time communing with the local animals while Justin had to work.

We fed giraffes, rhinos and lorakeets at the Safari Park!

We also took a few hikes...

Point Loma Tide Pools

Torrey Pines

Cabrillo

Justin did get some time off and we went to the Del Mar horse races with his wardroom and took a trip to Vegas to visit with his parents.

Del Mar

birthday dinner at Scarpetta

After all my fun on the West coast, the Navy sent me for summer training in Pensacola and Panama City, Florida. I learned all about flight and dive medicine, as well as some crucial water survival skills such as paddleboarding, snorkeling and tubing. ;)

Osprey Simulator

T-6

Finally, back at USUHS last week we obtained Basic Life Support and Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support certifications. Now certified to save lives! This week we had a final exam on our Combat Medical Skills, which entailed demonstrating techniques such as tourniquet application, hemorrhage control, needle decompressions and chest tubes (for collapsed lungs), IVs, intubations, and more, while weighted down in kevlar in the woods, after being shot at by paintball guns. Moderately stressful, but fun!!

My team ready to save some lives

bottom of page